160 Conrad A. Elvehjem Building
800 University
Avenue
Madison, WI 53706
(608) 263-2258 for main circulation desk
Wisconsin Artists Research Bibliography
This
bibliography covers a selection of recommended sources on Wisconsin
Artists. The following list is meant as
a starting point for your research, additional materials can be found using
Madcat or by asking a reference librarian for assistance. The bibliography has been divided into
several sections which are described below.
Within each section sources are listed alphabetically by author, or if
author is not applicable, by title. Each
source entry begins with the author, title, and publication information, in
that order, followed by the call number in parenthesis. A short description of each source and its
contents gives an idea of the type of information provided by the source, along
with an alphabetized list of the featured
Wisconsin
artists in the source.
Section Descriptions:
Decorative
Arts and Crafts – Materials focusing on utilitarian artwork or artwork created
mainly as a decorative item.
Folk
Art – Sources devoted to the work of artists not formally trained, both
professional and non-professional. Can include outsider artists or artists trained in a traditional,
but non-academic method.
General/Contemporary– Resources concerning artists currently working or artists whose careers have
existed within a recent time span.
Includes sources not applicable to other categories; for example those
that cover a range of mediums.
Glass – Items related to
Wisconsin glassworkers and glass art.
Historical– Sources describing the history of art in
Wisconsin; its development, influences, notable artists, etc.
Minority
Artists – Materials concerned with the work of Minority artists in
Wisconsin.
Photography – Items discussing
Wisconsin photographers.
Printmaking – Information on
Wisconsin printmakers.
UW Faculty – Documentation of work by
University of Wisconsin Faculty.
Women Artists – Sources of information on
Wisconsin women artists.
Watercolor – Resources about
Wisconsin watercolorists.
Decorative Arts and Crafts
Madison Art Center. The Decorative Arts in Dane County. Madison, Wis.: Madison Art
Center,
1982. (N 6530 W6 M32)
Exhibit catalogue with one black and white print for
each artist with brief biographical information. Artists
exhibited include: Mary Bero, Palli Davis, Mary Dickey, George Ellis, Fred
Fenster, Martha Glowacki, Michael Gross, Walter Hamady, C.R. “Skip” Johnson,
Cam Langley, David Leppla’s, Brigitte Manoogian, Monique Milhollin, Eleanor
Moty, Sarah Nelson, Dennis Pearson’s, Curtis Platt, Don Reitz, Allan Rosenbaum,
Susan Solie, Steven Spiro, Elizabeth Tuttle, M. Avigail Upin, Jim Van Deurzen,
and Dick Wickmans.
Folk Art
Grass Roots Art, Wisconsin: Toward a Redefinition.
Oshkosh
: Office of University Publications
University
of
Wisconsin-Oshkosh
, 1978. (N 6530 W6 G7)
Catalogue of an exhibit at the John Michael Kohler Arts Center. Includes an
introduction and the essay “Grass Roots Art: Wisconsin, Toward a Redefinition” by Wanda G. Cole. No biographical information for the artists
is provided other than city of residence, but commentary is provided for pieces
represented in a print. Following is a
list of included exhibitors, names in italics indicate artists with a black and
white print of their work in the catalogue: Barbara Anger, Howard Angermeyer, Glady’s Bartol, Aaron L. Beechy, Dan Ray
Beechy, Adam Berg, Charles Beyer, Henry P. Boogaard,
William Boose, Conover Family, Daniel
Craig, Andrew L. Dahl, Lucy Dahlin,
Nick Engelbert, Dan Erbstoesse, Clarence Josiah Feltenbarger, Charles Foote, Joe Gazecki, Gerhard Gessel, Kathleen Gresens, Elsie Heindl, Jerry Holter, Harvey
Jorgensen, Walter Juslen, Loretta
Kufahl, Walter Kufahl, Michael Lenk, Janis Lesdins, Neil Long, Francis M. Meinhardt, Philipina Melville, Frank Menkus, Lynn Miller, Aldon (Smiley) Mueller, Emil Pearson, Grant Peterson, William
Peterson, John Phillip, Loretta
Pitzl, Ruby Reiter, Albrecht Rolke,
Rudolf Rotter, Herman Rusch, Sanome Sanapaw, Frederick Schaar, Annie S. (Sievers) Schildhauer, Gregory Schneider, Arthur Schwandt, Orrin
Siewert, Fred Smith, Earl Sugden, Loretta Sylke, James Tellen,
Pat Thomas, Walter Thorp, Joseph A. Vandenplas, Father Mathias Wernerus, Peter White
Bird, Hjalmar Wisth, Frank Wolfert, Albert Zahn, Philip Zellmer,
Jerry Ziebell and several anonymous
artists.
Krug, Don. Miracles of
the Spirit : Folk, Art, and Stories from Wisconsin. 1st ed. Jackson: University Press of Mississippi, 2005. (N 6530 W6 K78 2005)
Chronicles
the stories of twenty-six Wisconsin artist/makers not initially trained in the
arts. These artists could be considered
folk, primitive, outsider or rural artists.
The first four chapters cover geographical sections of Wisconsin and are sub-divided by artist. Artists included are: Hope Atkinson, Prophet
Wiliam Blackmon, Guy Church, Jack Dillhunt, Dr. Evermor (Tom Every), Anton
“Tony” Flatoff, Lester Fry, Paul Hefty, Wally Keller, Norbet Kox, Les Morrison,
Ellis Nelson, John Ree, Lori Reich, Rudy Rotter, Simon Sparrow, Bruce Squires,
John Sroka, John Tio, Carter Todd, Bob
Watt, Mona Webb, Della Wells, Mike “Ringo” White, and Clyde Wynia. Following those are two chapters: “The Life
of Ideas: The Formation of Outsider Art in Wisconsin” and “Miracles of the Spirit of Art: Representing an
Artist’s Sense of Place”. An index and
bibliography are provided.
Barton, John Rector. Rural Artists of Wisconsin. Madison, Wis.: University of Wisconsin Press, 1948. (N 6530 W6 B3)
Text
covering the work of approximately thirty Wisconsin artists featured in a series of rural art exhibits in Madison
from 1940-1948, a project partially produced by John
Curry. The book is illustrated with
photographs of the artists, along with both color, and black and white prints
of their work. A two to three page
biographical essay is provided for each artist, and the last section is an
index, by artist, of works included in Madison Rural Art exhibits. The featured artists are: Ambrose Ammel, Joan
Arend, John Black, William Boose, Frances Burt, Frank Engebretson, Francis D,
Grady, Louis Grebetz, Racheal Grimm, Lois Ireland, Alexander Norman Jargo, Arthur
Johnson, Herman Krause, Ralph Krug, Walter Kuse, Ethel Kvalheim, Millie Rose
Lalk, Carl Marty, Sr., Clarence Boyce Monegar, Elizabeth Faulkner Nolan, Chris Olson,
Florence Peterson, Martha Rodenbough, Lloyd H. Scarseth, Lela Borah Smith, Earl
Sugden, Iris Furman Tellefson, Walter Thorp, Mrs. Carl Ubbelohde, Alice Weber.
General/Contemporary
Arts Build Directory : Artists of Southwest Wisconsin 2005.
Wisconsin
:
Arts Build, 2005. (N 6530 W6 A78 2005 Reference Collection)
Directory of current Wisconsin artists organized by county with
artist and discipline indexes. Also includes a short summary of what the
Arts Build is.
Cabinets of Curiosities : Four Artists, Four Visions : Martha Glowacki,
Mark Lorenzi, Natasha Nicholson, Mary Alice Wimmer.
Madison
,
WI
:
Elvehjem
Museum
of Art, 2000.
(NX 511 M33 C33 2000)
A catalogue providing in depth discussion of the
exhibit by the same name. The exhibition was proposed by Natasha
Nicholson and her introduction explains the inspiration behind it. Nicholson’s introduction is followed by the
essay “The Wonder of it All: Contemporary Cabinets of Curiosity” by Joseph
Goldyne. The remainder of the catalogue
is divided into two sections; “Four Artists” which contains four essays, one
for each artist, discussing their process, work, and influences. The second, “Four Visions”, has color prints
of the work in the exhibition. The four
exhibiting artists were: Martha Glowacki, Mark Lorenzi, Natasha Nicholson, and
Mary Alice Wimmer.
Emerging
Imagists. Milwaukee, WI: The Museum, 1983. (N 6530 W6 E4 1983 2)
Catalogue of a Milwaukee Art Museum exhibit focusing on contemporary Wisconsin artists who incorporate imagery
into their work. The exhibited artists were also described as
“Leading practitioners of an expressively altered figurative style.” (preface) Several
color and black and white prints are provided for each artist along with an
artist’s statement and biographical information. Artists in the show were: Dennis Bayuzick,
Randy Berndt, John Broenen, Pat Fennell, Michael Jacobsen, Jeff Johannes,
Dennis Nechvatal, and Bob Sill.
Levy,
Hannah Heidi. Famous
Wisconsin Artists and Architects. Oregon, WI: Badger Books, 2004. (N 6530 W6 L48 2004
Reference Collection)
Informal guide to over 100 Wisconsin artists and architects, including
a section on panorama painting, followed by a list of lesser known Wisconsin artists. Bibliography
and index are included as well as a guide to other sources for information Wisconsin artists.
Milwaukee Art Museum. 100 Years of Wisconsin Art. Milwaukee, Wis.: The Museum, 1988. (N 6530 W6 O58 1988 Reference
Collection)
*This
is mainly a historical source so it is listed below in the historical section,
but it does include work by a few contemporary artists.
On Site: Installations. Milwaukee: The Museum, 1986. (N 6494 E6 O6
1986)
Catalogue of an exhibit in Milwaukee consisting of a group of temporary
site specific installations by a diverse group of artists. The
introduction briefly discusses most of the pieces in the show. A black and white print of each installation
is included alongside brief biographical information on the creator. Artists include: Irene Adamczyk, David
Aguirre, Al Blankschien, Jeff Boshart, Michal Carley, Dennis A. Coffey, Laurie
Beth Clark, Robert Curtis, David Damkoehler, Sally Duback, Leslie Fedorchuk,
David G. Genszler, Sandra L. Greuel, Katherine King, Michelle Grabner, Philip
Krejcarek, Lois Van Liew Leonard, Barbara Manger, James Matson, James McCarter,
Nancy McGee, William Reid, Suzanne Rosenblatt, Jill Sebastian, Jean Stamsta,
Henry Steinfort, James Vopat, Thelma Wasserman-Friedman, Nancy Metz White, and
Jeff Worman
State
of the Art, Wisconsin Painting and Drawing. Sheboygan, WI: J.M. Kohler Arts Center of the Sheboygan Arts Foundation, 1982. (N 6530 W6 S7 1982)
Accompanying catalogue for one exhibition in a series
covering current directions in Wisconsin art through the work of Wisconsin artists who contributed
significantly to an art form or medium. Includes black
and reproductions of work by each artist and brief biographical information. Represented Artists: Nancy
Burkert, Gibson Byrd, Jean Crane, Paul Caster, Warrington Colescott, Gary Hagen, Robert
Mertens, Mark Mulhern, Stephen Samerjan, Susan Slavick, Jill Sebastian,
Cristel-Anthony Tucholke, Tom Uttech, and John Wilde.
Wisconsin Biennial
The
Wisconsin Biennial began in 1978 and was organized by the Madison Art Center. In 1987 the
biennial became the Wisconsin Triennial.
The triennial is mentioned in more detail later on. The catalogs of the biennial are listed
below. The Kohler has three catalogues
from the biennial; each has black and white reproductions of pieces in the
exhibit and a list of the selected artists.
Exhibited artists are listed below divided by biennial year.
Wisconsin Bienniale. Wisconsin Bienniale. Madison, Wis.: Madison Art Center, 1980. (N 5020 M3 W5 1980)
Randy
Arnold, Andrew Gordon Balkin, Diane Balsey, Ronnie Baron, Dennis Bayuzick, John
Berens, Marc A Bergeron, Kyle Berney, Carl Billingsley, Mark Bina, Chris
Bjorklund, Carol Burns, Megan Campbell, Robin Carnes, Dan L. Carrel, Gregory
Conniff, Jon Corson-Rikert, Beth Costello, Roland J. DeBaker, Donald DeKeyser,
Paul Delong, Julie Dierauer, Paul Douglas, Paul Duesler, Jeanne
Eberlein-Burmeister, Wendy Edwards, Donna Elliot, Marion Engelke, Patrice A.
Federspiel, Andre Ferrella, Karen Fitzgerald, Richard Frodi, Ed Gray, Matt
Groshek, Karen Gunderman, Karon Hagemeister-Winzenz, Gary Hegen, Lauren Sinnott
Hambrecht, Stephen Hankin, Lawrence Harrison, Marylin Hart, Donnie Hedfield,
Curt Heuer, ILA, Michael Jacobsen, Jeffrey Johannes, Helen Kaplan, Helen
Kaplan, William Karberg, Judy Kashman, David Kerner, Karin Ketarkus, Joann
Kindt, Lewis Koch, Jean Crane Koeper, Maude Kozlowski, Charles Kraus, Philip
Krejcarek, Jeffrey Kroll, Steve Larson, John Losiniecki, Denise Luhman, Jim
McLear, Richard Meinecke, Robert Merline, Jan Meyer, James D. Michael, Marlene
Miller, Jerry Mischak, Judith Mjaanes, Susan L. Montague, Gisela Magdalena
Moyer, Thomas Muench, Jeanette Mullane, Dagny Quisling Myrah, Paula Nees, R.K.
Nelson, Mary Ellen Nelson-Raney, Perry Loren Nesbitt, John Northcutt, Mark
Oliver, Dan O’Neal, Chris Osborne, Nang Sook Park, Shirley Pasternak, Elaine
Pelosini, Steve Peter, Judy Pichler, Gregg F. Pustaver, Barbara Quade, Richard
Reese, James F. Reimer, Ellen Reyher, Robert Richter, Jamie Ross, Adrienne
Sager, Kathleen Gray Schallock, Elliott Schnackenberg, Tom Schott, Nick
Schroeder, Annette Schuh, Terry Schwab, Jill Sebastian, Barbara Seyda, Jan
Smith, Marko Spalatin, Marilyn Staslak, Sr. M. Stephanie Stauder, George H.
Steuer, Jarrett Strawn, Kay Sullivan, Jackson Tiffany, Mike Tincher, Glenn Trudel,
Christel-Anthony Tucholke, John J. Turnock, Judith Uehling, Leslie Loomis
Vansen, Pat Vecchione, Laureen Vlaisavljevich, Bud Wall, Susan Walsh, William
Willers, and Paul Wirtz.
Wisconsin Biennial. Wisconsin Biennial. Madison, Wis.: The Center, 1982. (N 5020 M3 W52 1982)
Irene
Adamczyk, Steve Agard, Marilyn Agnew McAweeney, Morris Altman, Nancy Andrews,
Randy L. Arnold, Sarah Aslakson, Dennis Bayuzick, Mary Benton, Sally Behr,
Pamela Bentzien, Gene Bloedorn, Rosemary Bloedorn, Duane Brissette, John Broenen,
Alfredo Caballero, Carol Cameron, Steven P. Carlson, Robin Carnes, Michael E.
Christopherson, Dennis A. Coffey, Gregory Conniff, Stephanie Copoulos, Tom
Corcoran, Amy Cuthbert, Jerry Dell, Mary Diman, Duane Ditty, Beth Eisendrath,
Scott Endsley, Andrew Ewen, Michael A. Finger, Phil Fisher, Donald Furst, Susan
Gallub, Susan Gardels, Arvind Garg, Drew Gawel, James Gill, Nancy Goetz, Karen
Helland Granger, Ed Gray, Eric Hagstrom, Tom Hancock, Sally M. Hayes, Mary
Highfill, Valerie Hodgson, Deborah Howard, Linda Huber, Anne Hughes, T.J.
Jackovich, Joel Jaecks, Amelia Janes, Larry Junkins, Barry Krammes, Philip
Krejcarek, Dawn Krokowski, Cam Langley, Suzette Jeanne LaVigne, Ruth Lingen,
Claudia Lipke, John H. Losiniecki, Mark McFadden, Phyllis Isabel McGibbon, Jim
McLear, Glenn T. Mackie, Don Michael, James D Michael, Ruth Miles, Susan Miles,
Thomas Mobeck-Hoffman, Diane Molvig, Timothy Moore, Mark Morrison, Mark
Mueller, Thomas Muench, Mark Mulhern, Charles Munch, Frances Myers, Kathryn
Myers, Natasha Nicholson, Michael Nitsch Jr., Olive Nordby, Joan Fontana
O’Connor, Judy K. Olsen, Daniel O’Neal, Danny O’Rourke, Linn Hesse Petri,
Steven J. Pierick, JoAnna Poehlmann, Philip Quinn, Michael Rebholz, William
Reid, John M. Robinson, Steve Roffler, Douglas Safranek, Peter S. Saupe, Robert
L. Schultz, P. Scobey, Bruce J. Severson, Anders Shafer, Bob Sill, Susan
Slavick, Graham Kim Smith, Laurie Stein, Larry Stephens, Leanne Stevenson,
Robert E. Stevenson, Marti Stewart, J.M. Strader, Joseph Sutter, Max Taylor, Evelyn
Patricia Terry, Christel-Anthony Tucholke, Elizabeth Tuttle, Thomas C.
Uebeherr, Hope Van Winkle, Christopher Vanden, Charlie Vaughn, Susan Walsh,
Terri Warpinski, Steven Paul Welch, Art Werger, W.B. Willers, Ken Workowski,
S.K. Yaeger, Peggy Flora Zalucha, and Zippy Franklin Zetzman.
Wisconsin Biennial. Wisconsin Biennial. Madison, Wis.: The Center, 1984. (N 5020 M3 W52 v.1984)
Irene
Adamczyk, Marlyn Agnew-McAweeney, Don Albrecht, DoraMay Aldworth, Paula
Schuette Anderson, John Mark Arnold, Susan Baehmann, Elizabeth Baldauf, Tom
Bamberger, Beth Bartholomew, William Bedford, Leslie Bellevance, Christopher L.
Davis Benavides, Lois Bergerson, Lynn Bicknell, Carl Billingsley, Rosemary
Bloedorn, Nancy Blum, Taffnie Bogart, Elizabeth Breed, Paula Bunch, Sam
Caldwell, J. Scott Canfield, Robin Carlson, Valerie J. Christell, Holly Cohn,
Gretchen L. Coles, Jocelyn Cox, Jean Crane, Douglas Cumming, Keith Davis,
Eileen Potts Dawson, Robert G. Devine, Mary Diman, Robert A. Dolsen, Anita
Douthat, Carol Emmons, Kathleen Young Fenner, Regina Flannagan, Peter Flanary,
Constance Gage-Kivlin, Arvind Garg, Martha Glowacki, Hilary Goldblatt, Thomas
Grade, Nancy Greenbaum, Gary John Gresl, Matt Groshek, Michalene Groshek, Deb
Grossfield, John Groth, Karen Gunderman, Thomas Hancock, David M. Harding, Bev
Harrington, Mary Harrison, Caren Heft, B. Hopkins, Linda Huber, Sally
Hutchison, Marc Jacobson, Les Klug, Gregg Kumlien, Tim Ladwig, Guntis Lauzums,
Ronna Lee, Ruth Lingen, Carlos Loera, Catherine Loughran, Linda McCovern, James
Michael, Mary Raab Mickiewicz, Don Miller, Joan Miller, Judith Mjaanes, Thomas
Mobeck-Hoffman, Lois Mogensen, Georgia Mommaerts, Lloyd Mueller, Christopher
Murphy, Dagny Myrah, Dean Nagel, Rhonda Nass, Natasha Nicholson, Rise Anderson
Petersons, Dorothy Provis, Mary Pulliam, Tom Rauschke, Marylu Raushenbush,
Richard Reese, Jacqueline Richards, Elaine Rogers, Virginia Rose, Allan
Rosenbaum, Stephen Samerjan, Kenneth Schneider, Nick Schroeder, Robert Schultz,
Phyllis Sechrist, D’Ann de Simone, Kathie Skrabanek, Susanne Slavik, George
Steuer, Tom Thiel, Sue Tjepkema, Timothy Togstad, Joanne Toman, Andree Valley,
James Van Deurzen, Jennifer Vaughn, Marian Vieux, Marilyn Waligore, Bud Wall,
Margaret Walsh, Bruce Walters, David Wellis, John Wendt, Doris White, Jonathan
Wilde, Marylou Williams, Philip Williams, Ed Wong, S.K. Yaeger, Peggy Flora
Zalucha, and Zippy Franklin Zetzman.
Milwaukee. Art Center. Wisconsin Directions Two : Here &
Now. Milwaukee: The Center, 1978. (N 6530 W6 M55 1978)
Catalogue of a show surveying contemporary art by
artists residing in the state of Wisconsin. None of the
work was completed before 1977. The
exhibition was open to anyone in the state over eighteen to give lesser known
artists a chance to show their work.
Each artist is represented in the catalogue with a black and white print
of their work, and sometimes a short artist’s statement. The artists exhibited were: Diane Balsley,
John Balsley, Gayle Bard, Roy R. Behrens, Fred Berman, Randall Berndt, Carl R.
Billingsley, Ron Bitticks, Todd Boppel, Roald Bostrom, John Brekke, Gibson
Byrd, Tjae Chapman, Valeria Chen, Warrington Colescott, John Colt, Laurence L.
Conn, Robert Curtis, Robert Danner, Palli Davene Davis, James Donnelly,
Christine Douglas, Dick Evans, Susan Evans, Judith Fineberg, Steven Douglas
Foster, Richard Frodl, Orazio Fumagalli, Raymond Gloeckler, Alan Goldsmith,
Susan Goodrich, Arnold Gore, Robert Grilley, Gary Hagen, Lawrence Harrison, Ron
Harvey, Ronald Dale Hinz, David Holmes, Thomas Hovorka, Charles James Kaiser,
Barbara Kohl, Dale Kohlstedt, James Kronlage, F.G. Luntz, Barbara Manger, Gary
Marx, Karen Massaro, David Merkel, Joan Michaels-Paque, Charles Munch, Frances
Myers, Mary Bero Nechvatal, Narendra Patel, James Robert Perry, Steve Peter,
Joanna Poehlmann, Laurence Rathsack, Patrick Robison, Joseph Rozman, Jr.,
Virginia Schoenberg, Robert Schuenke, Toni Seebantz, Jean Stamsta, Anthony
Stoeveken, Michelle Hope Stuhl, Authur Thrall, Jackson Tiffany, Charles Toman,
Christel-Anthony Tucholke, Elizabeth A. Tuttle, Tom Uttech, Dedra M. Walls,
Murray Weiss, Huff Wesler, and Acquaetta Williams.
Wisconsin
Painters and Printmakers. Madison, WI: Wisconsin Academy of Sciences, Arts and Letters, 1983. (N 6530 W6 W63 1983)
Issue
of the Wisconsin Academy Review devoted to Wisconsin Painters and
Printmakers. Contents
includes the following articles and sections, artists mentioned in each
are listed in parenthesis, those in italics have at least one print of their
work in the issue:
Regional
Gallery Directory, Wisconsin Art Exhibitions, Wisconsin Art Exhibitions,
Wisconsin Prints and Printmakers (Robert
Burkert, Donald Furst, Raymond Gloeckler, Ruth Grotenrath, Keiko Hara, Schomer
Lichtner, Dean Meeker, Frances Myers, Clary Nelson-Cole, Marko Spalatin,
Anthony Stoeveken, Arthur Thrall, Judith Uehling, William Weege)
Some
UW-Madison Painters and Printmakers (Aaron
Bohrod, Gibson Byrd, Warrington Colescott,
Raymond Gloeckler, Robert Grilley, Richard Long, Suzanne Slavick, John Wilde, Santos Zingale)
Poems
by Barbara Fowler, Independent Artists of Wisconsin (Nancy Ekholm Burkert, Mark Frederick Geisheker, Ida Ozonoff, JoAnna
Poehlmann, Christel-Anthony Tucholke, Don LaViere Turner, Charles Wickler)
Art
in a Cold Climate: Some Milwaukee Area Artist-Teachers (Fred Berman, John N. Colt, Douglas Cumming, John Earnest, Joseph
Friebert, Mark Mulhern, Joseph Rozman, Howard Schroedter, Tom Uttech)
Directory
of Artists (Jack Damer, Elsie Hagert Heindl, Richard Long, Dean J. Meeker,
Dennis Nechvatal, Arthur Thrall, Joanne Toman, Joan N. Zingale, and all artists
mentioned above)
Bookmarks
Wisconsin.
West Bend Art Museum. Wisconsin Painters & Sculptors, Wisconsin
Artists in all Media : Centennial Exhibition. West Bend, Wis.: West Bend Art Museum, 2000. (N 6530 W6 W38 2000)
Catalogue
published by the West Bend Art Museum for an exhibition of the same name. The preface is entitled, “A Century of
Artistic Endeavor” and gives a brief history of art in Wisconsin relating to the formation of WP&S (Wisconsin
Painters and Sculptors) and WAAM (Wisconsin Artists in all Media). Followed by the essay “Our Past is Present in
Our Future”. A checklist of included
artists provides a color print of works shown, but no biographical
information. The catalogue finishes with
another essay “A
Place in
History”, which is a historical account of WP&S. Artists are: Sophia Amm, Rise Anderson,
Marilyn Annin, Kathy Armstrong, Steve Ballard, Leslie Boyanovsky, Metje C.
Butler, Ted M. Conde, Stephanie Copoulos-Selle, Amy Cropper, Phyllis Donovan
DeMeyer, Lee H. Grantham, Jo Greenen, Gary John Gresl, Martha Hayden, Doug
Haynes, Sally Gauger Jensen, Angelika Kade, Patricia Keller, David Klein, Nancy
Lamers, Dara Larson, Sherry Lawson Gates, Phyllis Lingurd, John S. Miller, Lois
Mogensen, Kathy Moss-Reeves, Karen E. Muench, Jody K. Nolan, Kaaren Oreck,
Audrey Lundquist Paesel, Jeanne Cole Panka, Anne-Marie Quackenbush, Theron
Caldwell Ris, Janet Roberts, George A. Ronsholdt, Katherine Steichen Rosing,
Jamie Ross, Geri Schrab, Colette Odya Smith, Carroll M. Tabaka, Trudi Theisen,
Peggy Thurston-Farrell, Judith Tomter, Robert Paul Ulrich, Vito Valenti, Rose
Van Vranken, Larry Welo, Charles F. Wickler, Maurine A. Willey, George C.
Wussow, Yan Xu, Rita Yanny, Peggy Zalucha.
Wisconsin Triennial
The
Wisconsin Triennial continues the exhibition series begun with the Wisconsin
Biennial. In addition to switching to a
triennial schedule, the selection process and number of artists selected
changed in 1987. The selection committee
chose to exhibit a smaller number of artists, allowing display space for
several works per artist. The smaller
number of exhibiting artists means that the catalogues for the triennials
contain more information on each artist, along with a black and white print of
their work. Biographic information
includes lists of past exhibitions and collections holding work, professional
positions, brief discussion of the artist’s work and a bibliography. Exhibition catalogues are listed below by
triennial year with a list of included artists and if applicable mention of any
extra materials.
Barilleaux,
René Paul. Wisconsin Triennial : A Survey of
Contemporary Visual Art in the State of Wisconsin. Madison, WI.: The Center,
1987. (N6530 W6 B28 1987)
Prefaced
by the essay, “Art in Wisconsin:
Extended Visions from the Homefront”
Exhibited
artists: Ann Althouse, Mark Anderson, Tom Bamberger, Sue Bartfield, Leslie
Bellavance, Randall Berndt, Mary Bero, Jeffery G. Boshart, John Broenen,
Richard Burkett, Lois R. Geiger Campagna, Laurie Beth Clark, Daniel Joseph
Colleran, Gregory Conniff, Michael Connors, Douglas Cumming, Dennis Darmek,
Waldemar Dynerman, Jeanne Eberlein-Burmeister, Carol Emmons, Patricia Fennell,
Andre Ferrella, Steven D. Foster, Ney Tait Fraser, David G. Genszler, Gary John
Gresl, Michael Gross, Gary D. Hagen, Walter Hamady, Willard H. Kolstad, Susan
Kwas, Richard Long, David W. Lundahl, Todd V. McGrain, Rachel Morris, Mark W.
Mulhern, Charles Munch, Frances Myers, Dennis Nechvatal, Paula J. Ness, Michael
Newhall, Natasha Nicholson, Charlie Olson, Morgan T. Paine, Jeffrey Ripple,
Scott Robertson, Robert L. Schultz, J. Shimon & J. Lindemann, Mark David
Sisson, Simon Sparrow, Jean Stamsta, Fred Stonehouse, Barbara Tetenbaum, Linda
Threadgill, Carter Todd, Tom Uttech, Marian J. Vieux, Susan Walsh, William
Willers, Robin Lynn Wilson, and Janica Yoder.
Wisconsin Triennial : A Survey of
Contemporary Art in the State of Wisconsin. Madison, Wis.: Madison Art Center, 1990. (N6530 W6 W64 1990)
Mark
Anderson, Brenda Leigh Baker, Sue Bartfield, Leslie Bellavance, Mary Bero,
Robert Burkert, Bary Carlsen, Paul J. Chilsen, Laurie Beth Clark, Warrington
Colescott, John N. Colt, Michael Connors, Cathy C. Cook, Jack Damer, Dennis
Darmek, Jerry Dell, Carol Emmons, Steve Feren, Alan Ricardo Fierro, Peter
Flanary, Patrick JB Flynn, Steven D. Foster, Lois Ann Freeberg-Hagen, Martha
Glowacki, Michael T. Gross, Walter Samuel Haatoum Hamady, Rick Hards, Ken
Horii, John Hughes, Lewis Koch, Norbert H. Kox, Richard Long, Mark Lorenzi,
Mancy Mladenoff, Mark W. Mulhern, Charles Munch, Frances Myers, Dennis
Nechvatal, Charlie Olson, Edward R. Pope, Carol S. Pylant, Jeffrey Ripple,
Scott Robertson, Luis Roldan, J. Shimon & J. Lindemann, John Shimon, Daniel
Smajo-Ramirez, Simon Sparrow, Jean Stamsta, Fred Stonehouse, Barbara Tetenbaum,
Linda Threadgill, Tom Uttech, John Wilde, Karon Hagemeister Winzenz, Janica
Yoder, and Peggy Flora Zalucha.
Wisconsin Triennial. Wisconsin Triennial. Madison, Wis.: The Center, 1993. (N6530
W6 W642 1993)
Sarah
Bowker, Jim Brozek, Robert Burkert, Warrington Colescott, John N. Colt, Cecelia
Condit, Gregory Conniff, Michael Connors, Cathy C. Cook, Jack Damer, Dennis
Darmek, R. Christian Egger, Carol Emmons, John W. Ford, Martha Glowacki, Lisa
Greve, Michael Gross, Caren Heft, Freida High, Drake Hokanson, Sally Hutchison,
Charles Johnson, David M. Lenz, Jeff Lipschutz, Mark Lorenzi, Nancy Mladenhoff,
Frances Myers, Dennis Nechvatal, Natasha Nicholson, Moyo Okedui, Daniel O’Neal,
Anthony Pessler, Carol S. Pylant, Jacqueline A. Richards, Scott Robertson, Luis
Roldan, Robert L. Schultz, Daniel Smajo-Ramirez, Simon Sparrow, Fred
Stonehouse, Linda Threadgill, Tom Uttech, Tomas Warn, John Wilde, Rob Yeo, and
Janica Yoder.
Wisconsin Triennial. Madison, Wis.: The Center:, 1996. (N650
W6 W64 1996)
Bert
Brouwer, James Cagle, Barry Roal Carlsen, Laurie Beth Clark, Portia Cobb,
Warrington Colescott, John N. Colt, James Michael Dietz, Laura Dronzek, R.
Christian Egger, Carol Emmons, Steve Feren, FIELDWORK, Peter Flanary, Nicholas
Frank, Martha Glowacki, Michelle Grabner, Michael Gross, Jean Roberts
Guequierre, Walter Hamady, Caren Heft, Gary Hodel, Mark D. Horton, Gregory
Klassen, Richard Knight, Norbert H. kox, James Kreul, Dianne Levesque, Thomas
Loeser, Richard Long, Lydia Matheson, Todd McGrain, Nancy Mladennoff, Mark
Mulhern, Frances Myers, Natasha Nicholson, Morgan T. Paine, Douglas Rosenberg,
Stan Shellabarger, Daniel Smajo-Ramirez, Bently Spang, Fred Stonehouse, Tom
Uttch, Marshall Weber, John Wilde, Peter Williams, and Janica Yoder.
Wisconsin Triennial. Madison, Wis. : The Center:, 1999. (N650 W6 W64 1999)
Maxine
Banks, Anna Benavides, Dick Blau & Cecelia Condit, Thomas Bleigh, Sally
Bowker, Marna Goldstein Brauner, Derrick L. Buisch, Molly Carter, Sonya Y.S.
Clark, Warrington Colescott, Michael Connors, Simon Mohandes Dorfman, Robert
Erickson, Andre Ferella, John W. Ford, Steven D. Foster, Nicholas Frank, David
G. Genzler, Martha Glowacki, Lane Hall & Lisa Moline, Walter Hamady, Ariana
Huggett, Fujiko Isomura, Hai-Chi Jihn, Norbert Kox, Paula Schuette Kraemer,
James Kreul, Heidi Lasher-Oakes, Jason Lee, Nancy Cramer Lettenstrom, Jeff
Lipschutz, Gina Litherland, Thomas Loeser, Mark Lorenzi, Frances Myers, Daniel
John O’Neal, Jose E. Rodriguez, Douglas Rosenberg, Bird Ross, J. Shimon &
J. Lindemann, 2funBasTards, Lee Weiss, Curtis Whaley, John Wilde and Jason S.
Yi.
Glass
The
William S. Fairfield Public Gallery Presents
Wisconsin
's Glass Masters.
Sturgeon Bay
,
Wis.
: The Gallery, 2000. (NK 5112 A3 W5 2000)
Catalogue
of an exhibit organized to address the Wisconsin Studio Glass tradition. The preface concisely covers the Studio Glass
Movement and Wisconsin’s part in it.
The introduction covers similar themes, including Harvey Littleton the
‘father’ of the Studio Glass Movement.
Following is a full page colored print of one work by each artist and
paragraph length artist biography. The
exhibited artists were: Dale Chihuly, Jon F. Clark, Fritz Dreisbach, Audrey
Handler, David R. Huchthausen, Marvin Lipofsky, Harvey K. Littleton, Tom
McGlauchlin, Michael Meilahn, Jeremy Popelka, Charles Paul Savoie, Jack A.
Schmidt, and Paul Seide.
Historical
Milwaukee
Art Museum
. 100 Years of
Wisconsin
Art.
Milwaukee
,
Wis.
: The Museum, 1988. (N 6530 W6 O58 1988 Reference
Collection)
Exhibit
catalogue, preceded by two essays, “The early Years: the Cultural Basis for
Wisconsin Art” and “Developments in Wisconsin Art since the Great
Depression”. The exhibit included over
fifty Wisconsin artists and the catalogue provides biographical
information on each with an accompanying black and white example of their
work. Also includes a bibliography. Artists are: Tom Bamberger, Henry Hamilton
Bennett, Fred Berman, Aaron Bohrod, Samuel Marsden Brookes, Nancy Ekholm
Burkett, Gibson Byrd, Warrington Colescott, Cyril Colnik, John Colt, Gregory
Conniff, John Steuart Curry, Steven D. Foster, Susan Frackelton, Joseph
Friebert, Owen Gromme, Emily Groom, Ruth Grotenrath, Edmund Lewandowski,
Schomer Lichtner, Harvey Littleton, Richard Lorenz, Carl van Marr, Louis B.
Mayer, Helen Farnsworth Mears, Gustave Moeller, Eleanor Moty, Mark Mulhern,
Dennis Nechvatal, Robert von Neuman, William Nichols, George Mann Niedecken,
Karl Priebe, Don Reitz, Bernhard Schneider, Jill Sebastian, Alfred Sessler,
Gerrit Sinclair, Fred Smith, Francesco Spicuzza, Jean Stamsta, Edward Steichen,
Brooks Stevens, Fred Stonehouse, Elsa Ulbricht, Tom Uttech, Henry Vianden,
William Weege, Murray Weiss, John Wilde, Frank Lloyd Wright, and Santos
Zingale.
Butts, Porter. Art in Wisconsin. Madison, Wis.: Democrat Printing Company, 1936. (N 6530 W6 B8 Reference
Collection)
Discusses the development of Wisconsin art in eight chapters which
include: America
’s Dark Age, Cultural Beginnings,
The Painters Reporters, Panorama Scene Paintings, The Art of “Taking
Likenesses”, Ideals from Abroad, Art as The Hallmark of Culture, and the
Significance of the Frontier. Followed by notes and a bibliography and
illustrated with the work of the following artists. Brief biographical
information on each artist is provided: J.O. Lewis, Seth Eastman, Peter
Rindisbacher, George Catlin, Henry Lewis, Samuel Brookes, B.I. Durward, A.
Leach, Samuel D. Coates, John GA------, R.M.
Sully. Also includes the Catalogue of
the Wisconsin Centennial Art Exhibition, 1836-1936. Included artists are: J.O. Lewis, Peter
Rindisbacher, Seth Eastman, George Catlin, Henry Lewis, Samuel Brookes, B.I.
Durward, A. Leach, John GA------, R.M. Sully, Samuel D. Coates, Henry Vianden,
John S. Conway, James Reeve Stuart, Lydia Ely, F.W. Heine, Bernhard Schneider,
Richard Lorenz, Robert Koehler, Carl Marr, Louis Mayer, George Raab, Alexander
Mueller, Gustave Moeller, Dudley Crafts Watson, Emily Groom, and Carl Robert
Holty in the retrospective section. The
contemporary section includes: Willi Anders, Helen Wann Annen, Gerhard Bakker,
Lester W. Bentley, Otto F. Bielefeld, Gordon M. Borchardt, Paul L. Clemens,
George Adams Dietrich, Stanley C. Drabinowicz, Forrest Flower, Joseph Friebert,
Ruth Dorothy Grotenrath, Stella Emma Harlos, Morley Hicks, Charlotte Jean
Jeffery, Agnes C. Jessen, Robert Henry Johnson, Hannes Kotilainen, Charles Le
Clair, Lowell M. Lee, Harry Lichter, Schomer Lictner, Clarice George Logan,
Frederick M. Logan, Charlotte Ruth Major, Harry M. Miller, Edward Lewis Morton, Milton Lambert
Nenahlo, Myron G. Nutting, Floyd Pauley, Victor William Purdy, Earle Thomas
Raine, Raymond N. Redell, Tom Lee Rost, Peter Rotier, Robert Schellin, Gerrit
Van W. Sinclair, Francesco J. Spicuzza, Stewart Roland Stebbins, Helmut Summ,
Howard Thomas, Charles W. Thwaites, Alexander Del Tillotson, John Owen Van
Koert, Victor Volk, Robert Franz Von Neumann, Barbara K. Warren, Donald Le Roy
Weismann, Harold George Wescott and Santos Zingale.
Collecting the Art of Wisconsin : The Early Years. West Bend, WI: West Bend Art Museum, 1996. (N 6530 W6 C5 1996)
Un-illustrated
exhibition catalogue with the essays: “Cultural Development in the Wisconsin Territory”, “The Panorama Artists and the German Influence”, and “The
Turn-of-the-Century. The
First Generation of American Trained Artists”. Essays are followed by a selected
bibliography. For each artist in the
exhibit there is a paragraph or more of biographical information. Artists in the catalog are: Elwood Warren
Bartlett, Ellen Baxter, Lester Bentley, Franz Biberstein, Aaron Bohrod, Arthur
Nicholson Colt, John Steuart Curry, Frank Enders, Bruno Ertz, John C. Fery,
Emily Groom, Harold Hall, Paul Hammersmith, Jack R. Hampel, Frederick Wilhelm
Heine, Conrad Heyd, Fritz Kerl, Schomer Lichtner, Richard Lorenz, Carl Von
Marr, John Marr, Alfred Pelikan, George Peter, Burton Lee Potterveld, George
Raab, Robert Schade, Daniel Leon Schatz, Bernhard Schneider, James Alfred
Schwalbach, Alfred Sessler, Gerritt Sinclair, Francesco Spicuzza, Lucia Stern,
Hans John Stoltenberg, Elsa Ulbricht, Henry Vianden, Robert von Neumann, and
Peter Woltze.
Wisconsin Art History : Early Wisconsin Craftmasters. West Bend, Wis.: West Bend Art Museum, 2001. (NK 835 W6 W55 2001)
The
accompanying catalogue to this exhibit is not illustrated, but contains
excellent background information on local craftsmen, followed by a selected
bibliography. The artists and movements
discussed are: Cyril Colnik, Susan Frackelton, Elsa Ulbricht, Stained Glass
Studios, and Woodcarving: Duck Decoys.
Leigh Yawkey Woodson Art Museum. Wisconsin's New Deal Art. Wausau, Wis.: Leigh Yawkey Woodson Art Museum, 1980. (N 6530 W6 L4)
Catalogue of an exhibit at the Leigh Yawkey Woodson Art Museum. The foreword
and introduction briefly discuss the history of the New Deal Art programs and
the programs’ effect in Wisconsin. Includes brief biographical information on 54
artists and reproductions of work by 25, whose names are italicized : Stanley Abstetar, Lester W. Bentley, Lou (Matthews) Bedore, Irving Biehn, Otto Bielefeld,
Marie (Mitzi) Bleck, Aaron Bohrod, Henry Bolmes, Paul L. Clemens, Tom Dooley, Bruno Ertz,
Max Ferneks, Forrest Flower, Frances Foy, William Frank, T. Arthur
Gabrielson, Jacob Gielens, Boris Gilbertson, Ruth Grotenrath, Antoinette
Gruppe, Armin Hansen, Indian Weaving Unit, Lac Du Flambeau, WI,
Richard H. Jansen, Agnes Jessen, Leroy F. Jonas, Karl Kahlich, Anne Krasnan, Paul Lauterbach, Edmund Lewandowski,
Schomer Lichtner, Thorsten Lindberg, Clarice
George Logan, Robert Dwight Logan, Myron Nutting, Chris Olson, David Goode
Parsons, Louis Powell, Karl
Priebe, Earl Raine, Peter Rotier, Robert
Schellin, Arlo Schmitz, Lester
Schwartz, Alfred Sessler, Gerrit Sinclair, Charles W. Thwaites, Albert Otto Tiemann, Frank Utpatel, Robert Von Neumann, Henry Waldeck, James Watrous, Peter Whitebird, Dick Wiken,
and Santos Zingale.
German Academic Painters
in Wisconsin., 1989. (ND 230
W5 G4 1989)
Catalogue
created by the West Bend Gallery of Fine Arts for an exhibit in 1989. Contains 12 plates and a
cover illustration, which illustrate two essays: “German Academic Painters in Wisconsin” by Sandra Butz-Siebers and “What
Happened to the Panorama Painters?” by Dr. Peter C. Merill. Both essays
include endnotes and a bibliography. The
Merill essay also provides several black and white photos of WI panoramic
painters. Plate List: Horse Market in Mid-Winter-Richard
Lorenz, Untitled Landscape-Heinrich
Viaden, Milwaukee River In Cedarburg-Bernard
Scheider, Untitled (field workers)-Richard
Lorenz, Returning From The Fields-Robert
Koehler, Untitled (still life)-Robert
Schade, Moose in Northern Minnesota-John
Fery, Untitled (landscape)-Frank
Enders, View of Mount Sir Donald In The
Selkirks of British Columbia-Franz Biberstein, Fish Creek-Johnson Bridge-Friederich Wilheim Heine, Untitled (landscape)-August Lohr, View of the Milwaukee River-George Raab.
Plus cover illustration; Horse
Market in Mid-Winter-Richard Lorenz.
Minority Artists
The Wisconsin Black Artists Past and Present.
Wisconsin
: 1987. (N 6538 N5 W812 1987)
Published along with an exhibit at the Memorial Union
Galleries, University of Wisconsin-Madison. Along with a
brief introduction, includes a color reproduction of one work by each artist,
and a brief artist’s statement. A
section at the end gives brief biographical information on each artist. Artists exhibited are: James Brooks, Jerry
Butler, Doris Derby, Ken Falana, Freida High, Deborah Johnson, Robert Martin,
Vicky Meek, Don Michel, Lev Mills, Gregory Page, Charles E. Queen, Beth Ritter,
Joe Roache, Janet Smith, Evelyn Terry, Joe
Thomas.
Photography
New
Photography from
Wisconsin, Minnesota, and Illinois
.
Madison
,
Wis.
:
Madison
Art
Center
, 1995. (TR 645 M332 M26 1995)
Catalogue of an exhibition of a diverse group of Midwest photographers. As is clear
from the title not all the chosen photographers were Wisconsin artists, but those that were are listed below. The introduction discusses some unintentional
themes amongst all the work and Midwestern photography in general. Each artist is given a page length discussion
of their work accompanied by a black and white example of their work. Wisconsin
photographers: Gregory Conniff, Steven D. Foster, Lewis Koch, Lindsay Lochman
(collaborating with Barbara Ciurejm IL), and J. Shimon and J. Lindemann.
Bamberger, Tom. New Wisconsin Photography II. Milwaukee, Wis.: Milwaukee Art Museum, 1997. (TR 645 M542 M55 1997)
Brief
publication to accompany an exhibit of five Wisconsin photographers: Susan Barratt, Nicolas Frank, Daniel Neumann, Kathy
Swaney, and Aaron Van Dyke. Color prints
of the artists’ work are accompanied by a paragraph or two discussing their
work.
Printmaking
Stevens, Andrew. 150
Years of
Wisconsin Printmaking.
Madison
:
Elvehjem
Museum
of Art. University of Wisconsin-Madison, 1998.
(NE 535 W6 S74 1998)
Catalogue of an exhibit mounted by the Elvehjem
Museum of Art to demonstrate the breadth of printmaking in the state of Wisconsin. Printmakers
in the exhibit and the history of Wisconsin
printmaking are discussed in the essay “Printmaking in Wisconsin” by Andrew Stevens.
The essay is illustrated with black and white prints and the catalogue
also contains a section of colored plates. A selected bibliography is provided at the end
along with two appendixes: “Federal Art Projects Prints in Wisconsin” and “Printmakers in Wisconsin Artists Calendar 1937
and 1938”. Printmakers mentioned in the
catalogue are: Stanley Abstetar, Gerhard Bakker, Andrew Balkin, Elwood Warren
Bartlett, David Becker, Otto Becker, Marie Bleck, Aaron Bohrod, Robert Burkert,
Warrington Colescott, Helen C. Couch, John Steuart Curry, Jack Damer, Tom
Dietrich, Frank Enders, Robert Erickson, Hulda Rotier Fischer, Joseph Friebert,
Gerald Geerlings, Ray Gloeckler, Ruth Grotenrath, Lane Hall, Paul Hammersmith,
Robert Hodgell, Carl Holty, Richard D. Houghton Jr., Susan Hunt-Wulkowitz,
Hannes Kotilainen, Paula Schuette Kraemer, Louis Kurz, Chet La More, Lowell
Merritt Lee, Schomer Lichtner, Clarice George Logan, Dean Meeker, Katherine
Merrill, Donna P. Miller, Lisa Moline, John Mominee, Albert Mueller, Frances
Myers, Robert von Neumann, Myron Chester Nutting, George O’Connell, Leon
Pescheret, Danny Pierce, Burton Potterveld, George Raab, Charles Clark
Reynolds, Tom Rost, Andrew Rubin, Gaylord Schanalee, Robert Schellin, Arlo
Schmitz, Alfred Sessler, Gerrit V. Sinclair, Paul Smith, Marko Spalatin, Helmut
Summ, Arthur Thrall, Charles Thwaites, Don LaViere Turner, Elsa Ulbricht, Frank
Utpatel, Sylvia Solochek Walters, William Weege, Joseph Wilfer, Mary Alice
Wimmer, Oscar von Zastrow, and Santos Zingale.
Wisconsin
Painters and Printmakers. Madison, WI: Wisconsin Academy of Sciences, Arts and Letters, 1983.
*Described
above in the General/Contemporary section.
Wisconsin
Printmakers, Damer, Weege, and Students. : Milwaukee, Wis.: Milwaukee Art Museum, 1982. (NE 535 W6 W57 1982)
This
catalogue accompanied an exhibit at the Milwaukee Art Museum. The introduction briefly covers
the history of printmaking and then moves on to discussing individual
printmakers in the exhibition. One black
and white print of each artist’s work is presented with brief biographical
information. Exhibiting artists were:
Karen Broker, Jack Damer, Paul Douglas, Tim High, Edwin Kalke, Anne Marie
Karlsen, Wilfred McKinzie, Tony Rubey, and William Weege.
UW Faculty
“Art Department Faculty
Exhibition Catalogues”
University of Wisconsin Digital Collections.
01 Dec. 2007 <http://digicoll.library.wisc.edu/Arts/subcollections/ArtFacExhibitsAbout.shtml>
This
is an online digital full text collection containing the catalogues of every University of Wisconsin-Madison Art Department Faculty Exhibit. The exhibits
began in 1974 as a collaborative effort between the Elvehjem Art Center, later the Elvehjem Museum of Art, now the Chazen Museum of Art. Each catalogue contains
comments by the department chair and the museum director, photos of and
biographical information on included faculty, with artist’s statements and
photographs of exhibited works. The
collection can be browsed by catalogue or there is a full text search. The 1999 catalogue contains Arthur Hove’s
essay, “Exploring Artistic Potential: An Informal History of the Department of
Art”, pages 11- 19. Full text of Hove’s essay, “Taking Inventory: Women Faculty in the Art Department” is part of the collection as well. Exhibit catalogues are also available in print
form in the Kohler Art Library. A
summary of each exhibit’s catalogue is given below, arranged chronologically,
along with a list of artists in that year’s exhibition. Citations for both print and digital formats
are provided for each catalogue.
1974
Catalogue
Print
Copy: Elvehjem Art Center. The Department of Art Faculty
Exhibition. Madison
:
University of Wisconsin-Madison, 1974. (N6530 W6 E47)
Digital
Copy: “UW-Madison Department of Art, Department of Art Faculty Exhibition:
celebrating the 125th anniversary/the University of Wisconsin-Madison” University of Wisconsin Digital Collections. 01 Dec. 2007 <http://digital.library.wisc.edu/1711.dl/Arts.AExFacEx125th>
1974
was the 125th anniversary of the founding at Madison of the University of Wisconsin. It also marked the first
extensive group exhibition on campus of work by faculty of the UW-Madison Art Department. The exhibit was held at the Elvehjem Art Center, itself inaugurated only four years earlier. This
collaboration of department and museum began a tradition of regular art faculty
exhibitions that continues to the present day.
The exhibit catalogue contains remarks from Chancellor Edwin Young,
Elvehjem Art Center Director Millard F. Rogers, Jr., and Chairman L. E. Moll of
the Department of Art. Professor Phil
Hamilton designed and supervised the printing of the catalogue, which contains
faculty biographies and photographs of their work. Exhibited Artists were: Donald Anderson,
Bruce Breckenridge, Mel Butor, D. Gibson Byrd, Warrington Colescott, Jack
Damer, Raymond Gloeckler, Robert Grilley, Walter Hamady, Phil Hamilton, C. R.
Johnson, Larry Junkins, Cavalliere Ketchum, Victor Kord, Marjorie Kreilick,
Richard Lazzaro, Harvey Littleton, Fred Logan, Richard Long, Hal Lotterman,
Dean Meeker, L. E. Moll, Eleanor Moty, Hardean Naeseth, Kenneth Ray, Richard
Reese, Donald Reitz, Arthur Schade, Wayne Taylor, Athur Vierthaler, John Wilde
and Santos Zingale.
1978
Catalogue
Print
Copy: University of Wisconsin--Madison. Dept. of Art. New Art Works : Department of Art Faculty Exhibition. s.l.:, 1978. (N5630 W6 W6)
Digital
Copy: “Art Department Faculty Exhibition Catalogues” University of Wisconsin Digital Collections. 01 Dec. 2007
<http://digital.library.wisc.edu/1711.dl/Arts.AExNewArt>
An
innovative exhibition catalogue format was employed for the second art faculty
exhibition. Thirty-five individual postcards depict and describe the works of
the faculty, and a folding envelope conveys the foreword of Eric McCready,
Director of the
Elvehjem Art Center
, and the remarks of Phil Hamilton, Chairman of the
Department of Art. Exhibited Artists
were: Donald Anderson, Bruce Breckenridge, Mel Butor, Gibson Byrd, Wook-Kyung
Choi, Warrington Colescott, Jack Damer, Fred Fenster, Ray Gloeckler, Robert
Grilley, C.R. “Skip” Johnson, Larry Junkins, Cavalliere Ketchum, Victor Kord,
Marjorie Kreilick, Richard Lazzaro, Harvey Littleton, Fred Logan, Hal
Lotterman, Doug Marschalek, Eleanor Moty, Hardean Naeseth, Ronald Neperud,
Kenneth Ray, Richard Reese, Don Reitz, Cathie Ruggie, Wayne Taylor, Marion
Vieux, John Wilde, David Willard, and Santos Zingale.
1982
Catalogue
Print
Copy: Art Faculty Exhibition.
Madison: Elvehjem Museum of Art, 1982. (N5020
M33 A7 1982)
Digital
Copy: “Art Department Faculty Exhibition Catalogues” University of Wisconsin Digital Collections. 01 Dec. 2007
<http://digital.library.wisc.edu/1711.dl/Arts.AExFacEx1982>
N.
Wayne Taylor, Chairman of the Department of Art, and Katherine Harper Mead,
Director of the Elvehjem Museum of Art, introduce this catalogue. Thirty-eight
art faculty members are represented by works in a range of media from
silverpoint drawing to steel. Exhibited
Artists were: Donald Anderson, Bruce Breckenridge, Mel Butor, Gibson Byrd,
Warrington Colescott, George Cramer, Jack Damer, Patricia Fennell, Fred
Fenster, Steven Feren, Raymond Louis Gloeckler, Robert Grilley, Walter Hamady,
Phil Hamilton, C.R. “Skip” Johnson, Junkins, Cavalliere Ketchum, Marjorie
Kreilick, Richard Lazzaro, Harvey K. Littleton, Richard Long, Hal Lotterman,
Truman Lowe, Dean Meeker, L. E. (Ernie) Moll, Eleanor Moty, Ronald Neperud,
Edward R. Pope, Kenneth Ray, Richard Reese, Don Reitz, Susanne Slavick, N.
Wayne Taylor, M. Avigail Upin, Bill Weege, John Wilde, David Willard, and
Santos Zingale.
1986
Catalogue
Print
Copy: Views 86 : The Art Faculty : University of Wisconsin--Madison, Elvehjem Museum of Art, 15 March-4 may 1986. Madison : The Museum:, 1986.
(N5020
M33 V53 1986)
Digital
Copy: “Art Department Faculty Exhibition Catalogues” University of Wisconsin Digital Collections. 01 Dec. 2007
<http://digital.library.wisc.edu/1711.dl/Arts.AExViews86>
Views
86, the fourth quadrennial art faculty exhibition, showcases works produced
between 1982 and 1986 which faculty felt were most representative of their
artistic directions during the period. Bruce M. Breckenridge, Chairman of the Art Department, and Russell Panczenko, Director of the Elvehjem
Museum of Art, provide a foreword and acknowledgements. Exhibited Artists were: David Becker, Sally
Behr, Bruce Breckenridge, Melvin Butor, Gibson Byrd, Laurie Beth Clark,
Warrington Colescott, Leslee Nelson Corpier, George Cramer, Jack Damer,
Patricia Fennell, Fred Fenster, Steven Feren, Raymond Gloeckler, Robert
Grilley, Walter Hamady, Phil Hamilton, C.R. “Skip” Johnson, Larry Junkins,
Cavalliere Ketchum, Marjorie Kreilick, Richard Lazzaro, Rich Lipscher, Richard
Long, Hal Lotterman, Truman Lowe, Doug Marschalek, Dean Meeker, L. E. (Ernie)
Moll, Eleanor Moty, Hardean Naeseth, Ronald Neperud, Komelia Okim, Don P.
Overmyer, JoAnn Phaedrus, Edward R. Pope, Kenneth Ray, Richard Reese, Don
Reitz, Kathleen D. Tanaka, N. Wayne Taylor, Bill Weege, John Wilde, and Santos
Zingale.
1990/1
Catalogue
Print:
Elvehjem Museum of Art. University of Wisconsin-Madison Department
of Art Faculty Exhibition. Madison, Wis.: University of Wisconsin, 1990.
(N6530
W6 E47 1990)
Digital:
“UW-Madison Department of Art, Faculty Exhibition” University of Wisconsin Digital Collections. 01 Dec. 2007 <http://digital.library.wisc.edu/1711.dl/Arts.AExFacEx1991>
Russell
Panczenko acknowledges the 20th anniversary of the Elvehjem Museum of Art in
his introduction to this catalogue for the fifth Department of Art Exhibition.
Phil Hamilton, Chair of the Art Department, contributes remarks from the department; and
catalogue entries document recent work of 43 artists - faculty, staff and
emeriti. Exhibited Artists were: David
Becker, Bruce Breckenridge, Hal E. Bundy, Melvin Butor, Gibson Byrd, Laurie
Beth Clark, Warrington Colescott, George Cramer, Jack Damer, Jim Escalante,
Patricia Fennell, Fred Fenster, Steven Feren, Raymond Gloeckler, Robert
Grilley, Walter Samuel Haatoum Hamady, Phil Hamilton, C.R. “Skip” Johnson,
Larry Junkins, Cavalliere Ketchum, Majorie Kreilick, Richard Lazzaro, Harvey K.
Littleton, Richard Long, Truman Lowe, Douglas Marschalek, Dean Meeker, Eleanor
Moty, Frances Myers, Leslee Nelson, Ronald Neperud, Carol Pylant, Daniel Smajo
Ramirez, Kenneth Ray, Richard Reese, John Rieben, Andrew Rubin, Elaine Scheer,
N. Wayne Taylor, William Weege, Valerie Weihman, John Wilde, and Santos
Zingale.
1994/5
Catalogue
Print:
University of Wisconsin-Madison, Department of Art Faculty Exhibition. Madison, Wis.: The Museum, 1994. (N6530 W6 E47 1994)
Digital:
“UW-Madison Department of Art, Faculty Exhibition” University of Wisconsin Digital Collections. 01 Dec. 2007
<http://digital.library.wisc.edu/1711.dl/Arts.AExFacEx1995>
The
work of 28 faculty, 2 staff and 11 emeriti are represented in the catalogue for
the sixth quadrennial faculty exhibition held December 9, 1994 through February 12, 1995. Russell
Panczenko, Director of the Elvehjem Museum of Art, and Truman Lowe, Chair of
the Department of Art, provide opening remarks and acknowledgements. Exhibited Artists were: David Becker, Bruce
Breckenridge, Melvin Butor, Gibson Byrd, Laurie Beth Clark, Warrington
Colescott, George M. Cramer, Calvin Custen, Jack Damer, Jim Escalante, Patricia
Fennell, Fred Fenster, Steven Feren, Robert Grilley, Walter Samuel Haatoum
Hamady, Phil Hamilton, Freida High, C.R. “Skip” Johnson, Cavalliere Ketchum,
Richard Lazzaro, Harvey K. Littleton, Thomas Loeser, Hal Lotterman, Truman
Lowe, Dean Meeker, Eleanor Moty, Frances Myers, Leslee Nelson, Ronald Neperud,
Edward Pope, Carol Pylant, Daniel Smajo Ramirez, Kenneth Ray, Richard Reese,
John Rieben, Andrew Rubin, Elaine Scheer, N. Wayne Taylor, William Weege, John
Wilde, and Santos Zingale.
1999
Catalogue
Print
Copy: University of Wisconsin-Madison, Department of Art, Sesquicentennial
Celebration Faculty Exhibition. Madison, Wis.: University of Wisconsin, 1999. (N6530 W6 U55 1999)
Digital
Copy: “UW-Madison Department of Art, Sesquicentennial Celebration” University
of Wisconsin Digital Collections. 01 Dec. 2007
<http://digital.library.wisc.edu/1711.dl/Arts.AExSesqui>
Marking
the 150th anniversary of the University of Wisconsin-Madison, this catalogue
reflects on the Department of Art and its history via essays by Laurie Beth
Clark, Professor and Chair of the department, and Arthur Hove, historian of the
arts on the UW-Madison campus. Russell
Panczenko, Elvehjem Director, contributed a forward; and 40 artists are
represented through photos, statements, and biographies. Exhibited Artists were: David Becker, Bruce
Breckenridge, Derrick Buisch, Melvin Butor, Laurie Beth Clark, Warrington
Colescott, Michael Connors, George Cramer, Bruce Crownover, Jack Damer, Jim
Escalante, Patricia Fennell, Fred Fenster, Steve Feren, Raymond Gloeckler,
Michelle Grabner, Robert Grillry, Phil Hamilton, Frida High, C.R. “Skip”
Johnson, Cavalliere Ketchum, Harvey K. Littleton, Thomas Loeser, Truman Lowe,
Douglas Marschalek, Dean Meeker, Eleanor Moty, Frances Myers, Leslee Nelson,
Ronald Neperud, Carol S. Pylant, John R. Rieben, Andrew Rubin, Elaine Scheer,
Diane Sheehan, T. L. Solien, N. Wayne Taylor, William Weege, John Wilde, and
Santos Zingale.
2003
Catalogue
Print
Copy: University of Wisconsin-Madison, Department of Art, Quadrennial
Exhibition. Madison, Wis.: University of Wisconsin, 2003. (N6535
M33 U55 2003)
Digital
Copy: “UW-Madison Department of Art, Quadrennial Exhibition” University of Wisconsin Digital Collections. 01 Dec. 2007
<http://digital.library.wisc.edu/1711.dl/Arts.AExQuad2003>
Russell
Panczenko, Director of the Elvehjem Museum of Art, and Jim Escalante, Chair of
the Art Department, introduce this catalogue presenting the most recent work of current
and emeritus faculty, affiliates, and staff of Tandem Press. Jim Escalante's foreword also summarizes
faculty transitions since 1999.
Exhibited Artists were: David Becker, Bruce Breckenridge, Derrick
Buisch, Melvin Butor, Laurie Beth Clark, Michael Connors, George Cramer,
Warrington Colescott, Bruce Crownover, Jim Escalante, Patricia Fennell, Fred
Fenster, Steve Feren, Aristotle Georgiades, Raymond Gloeckler, Michelle Grabner,
Lisa Gralnick, Robert Grilley, Phil Hamilton, John Hitchcock, C.R. “Skip”
Johnson, Cavalliere Ketchum, Harvey K. Littleton, Thomas Loeser, Theresa
Marché, Dean Meeker, Nancy Mladenoff, Frances Myers, Leslee Nelson, Ronald
Neperud, Carol S. Pylant, John R. Rieben, Andrew Rubin, Elaine Scheer, Diane
Sheehan, Gail Simpson, T.L. Solien, N. Wayne Taylor, William Weege, and Santos
Zingale.
2008
Catalogue
Print
Copy: 2008 UW-Madison Art Department Faculty Exhibition Catalogue.
Madison,
Wis.
:
Chazen Museum, 2008.
(N6535 M33 A17 2008)
Digital
Copy: “2008 UW-Madison Art Department Faculty Exhibition Catalogue” University of
Wisconsin Digital Collections.
15 Oct. 2008
<http://digital.library.wisc.edu/1711.dl/Arts.AFacEx2008>
Russell
Panczenko, Director of the Chazen (formerly Elvehjem) Museum, and Elaine Scheer, Chair of
the
Art
Department, introduce this catalogue presenting the most recent work of current
and emeritus faculty, affiliates, and staff. Michael Jay McClure provided Notes. Exhibiting artists included: Derrick Buisch, Laurie Beth Clark, Michael Connors, Kim Cridler, Jack Damer, Jim Escalante, Steve Feren, Aristotle Georgiades, Lisa Gralnick, Stephen Hilyard, John Hitchcock, S. Driscoll Hixson, Tom Jones, Tom Loeser, Truman Lowe, Douglas Marschalek, Dennis Miller, Nancy Mladenoff, Frances Myers, Leslee Nelson, Carol Pylant, Douglas Rosenberg, Paul Sacaridiz, Elaine Scheer, Gail Simpson, T. L. Solien, Gelsy Verna, Jennifer Angus, Freida High, Diane Sheehan, Bruce Crownover, Andrew Rubin, Jason Ruhl, Julie Ganser, Bruce Breckenridge, Mel Butor, Warrington Colescott, Fred Fenster, Raymond Gloeckler, Robert Grilley, Phil Hamilton, C. R. Johnson, Cavalliere Ketchum, Richard Lazzaro, Eleanor Moty, Ronald Neperud, Daniel Ramirez, Kenneth Ray, Donald Reitz, John Rieben, William Weege.
Five Decades
: Recent Works. Madison, Wis.: The Museum, 1980. (N 6512 F58 2)
Catalogue of the above exhibit. Exhibition
marks the 50th anniversary of the School of Education and the Department of art, as well as the 10th anniversary
of the Elvehjem Museum of Art.
Accordingly there are three short introductions from the deans of the School of Education, the College of Letters and Science, and the chair of the Art Department. A black and
white print is included for each artist along with very brief biographical
information. Included alumni: Clayton
Bailey, Robert J. Baxter, Nancy Ekholm Burkett, Richard Callner, Patrick D.
Cauley, Dale Chihuly, Paul Clemens, Howard Conant, Jane Couch, Richard Cramer,
Antonio Diaz, David Dorrance, Robert Engle, Edward Epping, Ken Falana, Phillip
Fike, James P. Finnegan, Phyllis Galembo, Arie Galles, William Haendel, William
Hammersley, Conley Harris, Cham Hendon, Sam Hernandez, F. Scott Hess, Robert O.
Hodgell, Klindt Houlberg, Art Jacobson, David C. Johnson, Lois M. Johnson,
Robert Knipschild, Carol Kumata, Joseph Kurhajec, Kay Kurt, Sylvia Lark, Marvin
Lipofsky, Keith Long, Edward Mayer, Bruce McClain, James McDermott, Bruce
Nauman, George O’Connell, Richard J. Olsen, Sam Parker, David Parsons, David
Pease, James Pernotto, Linda G. Rich, George Roberts, Bruce Rod, John Rogers,
Carol Schiffleger, Arden Scott, Vickie Sedman, Jody Shields, Sheila Solomon,
Hugh Townley, Don LaViere Turner, Shari Urquhart, Sylvia Solochek Walters,
Douglas Warner, J. Fred Woell, Paul Kan Wong, and Judy Youngblood.
University
of Wisconsin--Madison. Dept. of Art. University of Wisconsin-Madison, Department of Art, Quadrennial
Exhibition. Madison, Wis.: University of Wisconsin, 2003. (N 6535 M33 U55 2003)
Catalogue accompanying an exhibit of recent work by
UW-Madison faculty and department of art affiliates. The catalogue
includes both a color photo of each artist and a color print of one piece of
their work. Each faculty member
contributed a short artist’s statement and the catalogue also includes what
position the faculty member holds and their career achievements. Exhibiting faculty members were: David
Becker, Bruce M. Breckenridge, Derrick L. Buisch, Laurie Beth Clark, Michael
Connors, George M. Cramer, Jim A. Escalante, Patricia Fennell, Fred Fenster,
Steve Feren, Aristotle Georgiades, Michelle Grabner, Phil Hamilton, John
Hitchcock, Cavalliere Ketchum, Thomas Loeser, Theresa Marche, Nancy Mladenoff,
Frances Myers, Leslee Nelson, Carol S. Pylant, John R. Rieben, Elaine Scheer,
Gail Simpson, T.I. Solien, Sonya Y.S. Clark, Freida High, Diane Sheehan, Bruce
Crownover, Andrew Rubin, Warrington Colescott, Raymond I. Gloeckler, Richard
Lazzaro, Eleanor Moty, Ronald W. Neperud, Daniel Ramirez, and John Wilde.
Watercolor
Watercolor Wisconsin : Celebrating 25 Years.
Racine
,
Wis.
:
Charles
A.
Wustum
Museum
, 1991. (ND 1835 W6 W28 1991)
Catalogue
for an exhibit of four categories of Wisconsin
watercolorists: Landscape, Still Life, Personal Visions, and Abstraction. The introduction discusses each category and
the type of work it includes. It also
contains a few introductory paragraphs and a note about the exhibit’s
organization and the criteria for artists included in the exhibit. Not every artist has a print of their work in
the catalog, those that are italicized do:
Tamlyn Akins, Sarah Aslakson,
Bridget Austin, Phil Austin, Dennis
Bayuzick, Jerrold Belland, Kathe Betz, Marion Cape Biehn, Bruce Boeck, Nancy
Ekholm Burkert, Warrington Colescott,
John N. Colt, Jean Crane, Roland J. Debaker, Charles Dix, Elton Dorval, Craig Ede,
Lisa Englander, Carolyn Gagliardi, Sherman Groenke, Danelle Hanna, Harold
E. Hansen, David V. Holmes, Bruce Hustad,
Joel Jaeckes, Jeffrey G. Johannes, Robert
Johansen, Charles James Kaiser, Gregg
A. Knoll, M.P. Marion, Nancy Marks, Ruth
Miles, Anne E. Miotke, Thom
Petersen, JoAnna Poehlmann, Laurence Rathsack, Kenneth Ray, George Ronsholdt, Joseph Rozman, Stephen Samerjan, Carol Ann Schrader, Annette
Schuh, Thomas Selle, Jan Serr, Berta Sherwood, Celeste Spransy, Fawn
Shillinglaw, Nicolee Teegarden, Christel-Anthony
Tucholke, Tom Uttech, Lee Weiss, Doris White, and Peggy Flora Zalucha.
Women Artists
Women's Work : Early
Wisconsin Women Artists.
West Bend
,
Wis.
: The Museum, 2001. (N8354 W67 2001)
Published by the West Bend Art Museum in conjunction with an exhibit of
the same name. Catalog contains an introduction which
summarizes the experiences and careers of the artists exhibited. Artist included in the exhibit were: Lydia
Ely, Mathilde Schley, Susan Cressy, Helen Farnsworth Mears, Emily Groom, Jessie
Kalmbach Chase, Elsa Ulbricht, and Ruth Grotenrath. Also included are essays on each of the eight
artists: “Lydia Ely”, “A cosmopolitan Life in Wisconsin: Mathilde Schley’s
Hunger for the Beautiful and Useful”, “Susan Cressy: Milwaukee Artist”, “Helen
Farnsworth Mears”, “Emily Groom”, “Jessie Kalmbach Chase”, “Elsa Ulbricht: An
Unquenchable Spirit”, and “Ruth Grotenrath”.
Created by N.Stuesser
May, 2008
(rev. 10/2008)